Bonnielumley's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Par-eee

PARIS PARIS PARIS!

This weekend we went to Paris, and had such a blast! Bruns and I stayed with my friend from Mizzou, Tracey, and all the others stayed in a hostel. Tracey lives in the 3rd district, right down the street from the pompidou!

The first night, we all met up and went out to a place called the Panic Room (“and boyyy did we sure panic”). It was pretty fun! We  didn’t do much this night because we didn’t get in until around 8 so we just grabbed a quick dinner, got ready, and went out!

We woke up pretty early on Saturday, ready for a full day of walking! Bruns, Tracey, and I walked EVERYWHERE! Notre Dame, Eiffel Tower, up and along the Seine, Shakespeares & Co., The Louvre, Champs Elysees. One of my favorite parts of the day was when I got to play the piano upstairs in Shakespeares & Co! For those of you who don’t know, Shakespeares & Co is a really old bookstore that houses struggling writers for free if they work there during the day. One of the most famous “struggler” writers that stayed there was Ernest Hemingway. I really love this place, I could spend hours upon hours just wandering and getting lost among all the text — and of course sitting at the piano and just “tickling the ivory”.

My other favorite part of that day was this bridge crossing the Seine and leading to the Louvre. On either sides of the bridge there were pad locks with lovers names written on them and the date they locked it, to show the strength of their love. I thought it was pretty romantic and sweet. So sweeeeettttt 🙂 [][][]

Saturday Night we went out to a hipster place called Pin Up. it was actually really fun, but expensive. Bruns bought a bottle of Carlsberg for 6.50 euro. — that’s when we realized we missed our 3 euro Duvel back home in Brussels! But it was still really fun!! There was about an hour of the night where I danced by myself, haha. Gooooooddddd times!

Sunday we woke up SUPER early. We did a quick walk through of the Louvre, so Bruns could see Mona Lisa, Winged Victory (my favorite), Venus de Milo, and all the other famous ones. After the Louvre we went back closer to Tracey’s house did a little bit of shopping, ate some Macaroons, a banana and Nutella crepe and sat and watched this man make the BIGGEST bubbles outside the Pompidou. After we devoured our crepes we actually went in the Pompidou. I LOVED IT! It’s a lot more interesting to me than the Louvre. It’s a lot more modern and interactive!

Needless to say, Paris was awesome! I have officially decided it’s one of my favorite cities everrrr!!!!

This weekend we’re going to Antwerp (another city in Belgium) and then in 3 weeks I have visitors!

4 Comments»

  Mom wrote @

I am glad you had your Nutella! Can’t wait to be your visitor in 3 weeks! I have not seen the pompidou, I hope you have pictures I can see. Love you, Mom

  Daddy wrote @

Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful!
Bonnie, I love your descript and artful stories of where you’ve been….very creative!
I am so happy you are enjoying yourself and seeing all those historic and classic places.
Can’t wait to see you!!

I love you more than the universe,

Daddy

  Uncle Drew wrote @

Yaaahhhhwhoooo!!!! Sounds like you’re hittin’ all the spots!

Just soak it up. Enjoy every minute of it.

Take lot’s of pictures to show when you come home!!

Love you,

Uncle Drew/Aunt Janie

  Luanne wrote @

Can’t wait to be a visitor in less than 3 weeks now! Sounds like a different Paris trip than the one we took a few years ago 🙂


Leave a Reply

